✨Self Care Sundaze ✨


Sunday we made it 🙌🏾before you even begin your day (any day in fact) spend a few moments of your early waking day to show some gratitude. You don’t have to do anything you don’t even have to leave your bed but before you reach for you phone, laptop or tablet just sit there and remind yourself that you’ve been given the gift to see a new day and you’ve reached the end of the week in one piece. Don’t think about all the things you didn’t achieve, all your mistakes, fears and worries or even what the week approaching has to offer. Just be still and be thankful for all that you have. 

Sunday is an extra special day for me it’s a day dedicated to reflection, tidying, organising, chilling and self care. I like to make this day all about rest and recouperation. In this day and age being busy and productive is so highly praised and adored to the point that having a day off is frowned upon. As great as the human body is even this god given machine needs a break.  Now let me be clear I’m not here to tell you to be lazy but I’m here to tell you to be proactive in catering to yourself. To give yourself a break and a pat on the back for making it to the end of the week. 

Self care to me is getting my mind, body and soul prepared and refreshed so that I can tackle the up coming week head on. For me the idea of staying in bed all day chilling  scares me 😂 I hate the idea of staying in bed I like to be proactive even if it is my rest day. So here’s my sundaze routine to preparing for a new week ahead . Let’s get it 

MORNING 🐣

My morning consists of three things: 

  • Cleaning 
  • Laundry 
  • Chrurch 

I usually wake up at 7am (my idea of a lye in 🤷🏾‍♀️) . The first thing I like to do is get my domestic duties out of the way. I actually thoroughly enjoy cleaning and doing laundry. I love the smell of fresh sheets and the smell of a hot dryer 🙈. I find cleaning very therapeutic, I think I get it from my mum and I have a thing for the smell of cleaning products (bleach= huge turn on 😂😂😂). This usually takes about 1hr and 30 minutes .

Once this is all done and dusted (see what I did there 😂😂) I head to the shower and get freshened up. I don’t have a fancy shower routine, I simply blast some music, get in a hot ass shower and throughly clean my body. I proceed to get dressed in clothes I love , put some makeup on, have breakfast and head to church.

Church for me is like a form of meditation for me. I think it’s the one place where I can completely be still, be present and 100% give my attention / focus to the service. For some reason every sermon just speaks to me makes it’s like they know what’s going on in my life and they just help soothe / ease my problems. I walk out each Sunday a different person. 

AFTERNOON 🌞

My afternoon is pretty bland there’s nothing special. This is pretty much the time where I indulge in my personal desires :

  • Anime n chill
  • Family n Friends 
  • FOOOOD 

These are pretty much the things I love to do. I’m a huge anime fan it’s like a sophisticated adult cartoon ( depending on the genre you choose to watch). It’s quite addictive to be fair I mean 500 episodes , each are 20 minutes long and the next button is right in your face 🤔you can understand why a lot of people who watch anime end up not seeing daylight for days 😂😂 but atlas I’ve gained control over the years .

 Other than anime I like to catch up with friends and family. For some reason I tend to end up face timing, video calling people or getting into long chit chats online on a Sunday partly because I’d imagine everyone’s free. I just enjoy the company of people I love and who make me laugh. 


NIGHT 🌛🌜✨

My self care routine gets juicy in the evening as the day comes to a close. This is essentially because I’m winding down and preparing for bed. Between the hours of 5 – 9 pm I’m more or less: 

  • Pampering myself 
  • Organising my life 
  • Journaling 
  • Reading
  • Praying
  • Getting enough sleep 
  • More anime 😂


I love skin care! I love treating my skin and giving it that extra TLC. My idea of pampering is pretty basic 🤷🏾‍♀️ I’m pretty much just focusing on my face. I give my self a nice face mask and a mini face massage with my favourite oil. I then proceed to do my brows, clean my piercings and of course dental Care (whoop whoop) If I can be bothered I’ll do my nails. 

Organisation and journaling go hand in hand for me. This is the time that I get my thoughts , aspirations and plans down on to paper. I believe that big goals / self fulfilment e are achieved by each step you take towards them. For example, one of my goals is to read 15 books this years and to do that I aim to read 25-50 pages a day. When planning for your week keep in mind what you want to achieve and then break down how you can do that day by day. 


I’m a huge lover of bullet journaling I don’t actually use it to journal but more like a planner / project spring board. I look at each day of the upcoming week and plan out what I want to get done. As the saying goes stay ready don’t get ready. 

Like church journaling is like a form of meditation for me. It’s the one thing in my life that has nothing to do with the world, people, events etc it’s just all about me . I more or less go into a stream of consciousness and write what’s on my mind most of it doesn’t make grammatical sense and I’d imagine to the outside eye it looks like a bunch of incoherent scribbles. But that’s the beauty of it I’m the only one who gets it think of it like a lock that only I have the key to. 

Finally to wrap up the night I pray and read till I knock out. These are the last two things I do as they set me up for a quality amount of sleep. 

Remember early to bed early to rise get that  8hrs of quality sleep. ✌🏾 

I’d like to take a minute to just remind you that you shouldn’t wait until Sunday to pamper yourself or care for yourself. I know too many people who go to work / school all day long and then just collapse as soon as they reach their home it’s no wonder that you may feel miserable, unmotivated , exhausted and feed up. You should be carrying out acts of self care daily. Pick at least one thing each day to show yourself some TLC weather it be 20 minutes of meditation , a walk with nature, a hot bath it just some good homemade food you’ve got to take time out of your day to be with yourself. You have 24hrs in a day that plenty of time to work hard and play hard. We don’t need more time just simply better time mangenent and clarity of what our priories are. 

Leave a Reply

