A Classic Rustic Italian Inspired PIZZA 

Who doesn’t love a good ol rustic pizza 👅 this is by far the best pizza I’ve ever made. I believe that a good pizza starts from its base. The dough is everything it makes or breaks just how good a pizza is. In the past I’ve had to deal with pizzas that were soggy in the middle, non fluffy and tough as a stone. But alas I’ve conquered the vegan pizza and here I am to share that with you all I hope you love it as much as I do !

INGREDIENTS 

2 1/2 cups of flour 

10 grams of active yeast or fresh yeast 

2 table spoons of garlic powder

2 table spoons of coriander powder

1 1/3 cup of warm water 

2 table spoons of olive oil 

1 table spoon of sea salt 

RECIPE 

  1. In a bowl pour in the warm water. Make sure it’s warm and not hot or you’ll end up killing the yeast. Think of the kinda warm water you’d use for a baby. 
  2. Then add your yeast and mix well . 
  3. Then in a separate bowl I want you too sift your flour and add the herbs and salt and then mix well.
  4. Now add the yeast mixture and oil and mix until it’s time to use your hands .
  5. On a chopping board I want you to dust it with some flour and then proceed to knead for about 5-10 minutes. 
  6. Once you’re done kneading place your dough in a pre dusted or pre oiled bowl and cover it then allow it to rise in a warm place for an hour.
  7. In the mean time prepare your veggies and sauce. I used lots of spinach and basil along with chopped mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, peppers and a few sun dried tomatos (but add these in at then end) . For the sauce I just used a simple tomato paste but feel free to make your own or use a pasta sauce .
  8. Once your dough has risen and doubled in size proceed to roll it out on a suitable surface. I rolled mine out so that it was a thin to medium thickness. The pizza was roughly the size of a large saucepan but I then proceed to fold the edges inwards on itself. But in all honesty the shape of the pizza is 100% up to you. 
  9. Once your pizza shape is as you desire proceed to add your toppings and sauce.
  10. I add a lot of my veggies on top of my sauce, it may looking daunting to have all those veggies on top but remember that they will deflate during the cooking time. 
  11. Once your done go ahead and place your pizza into the oven at 200 degrees C for 35 minutes. 
  12. Half way though add some olive oil on top and the sun dried tomatoes of you wish. 
  13. Keep an eye on your pizza as we don’t want it to burn. 
  14. Once your all done proceed to devour that pizza 🤸🏾‍♀️👅👁
Leave a Reply

